Sharp and sweet lemon treat

Here we have a second Easter treat for you, perfect if you’ve reached your chocolate limit! This week I am making a cocktail to pair with BuBakes‘ adorable Easter chick cupcakes, so I went for a fun and fruity lemon martini. To see all of the wonderful creations from BuBakes, take a look at her cake gallery.

lemon curd crop

Lemon Curd Martini (makes one)

  • 50ml Absolut Vodka
  • 3tsp good quality lemon curd
  • 40ml lemon juice

Shake all ingredients with lots of ice, strain into a small martini glass. You can decorate them with freshly crumbled meringue if you have it, or you can top with Dr Oetker’s Lemon Meringue sprinkles. These both add crunch and sweetness to the tangy creaminess of the drink.

I first tried a Lemon Curd Martini at The Blue Dog in Glasgow. It’s a fantastic bar I try to visit whenever I’m in Scotland. The drinks are great, the staff are fantastic and it has a fun atmosphere. I highly recommend it if you are in the area.

I had wanted to try making the drink myself for a while, and Easter seemed a great opportunity. Both my mum and mother-in-law have tried and approved of my version, and that’s good enough for me!

You can of course make your own lemon curd, and seeing how tasty this is, and how it also makes easy tarts and puddings, I think I would make my own next time.

If chocolate is your preferred Easter treat, then don’t forget to have a look at last week’s Easter Egg Martini recipe!

Enjoy (responsibly)! x

One response to “Sharp and sweet lemon treat

  1. Pingback: An Absolut Treat… | Why can't it always be Happy Hour?·

Leave a Reply

